Press "Enter" to skip to content

Sitting hours of Parliament to change from mid-September

Sittings to commence at 10 a.m. from 22 Sep.

The Business Committee of Parliament which met yesterday decided to change the sitting times of the House with effect from the next sitting week. Accordingly, the House sittings will commence at 10 a.m. and continue till 5.30 p.m. starting from 22 Sept.

At present, Parliament sittings commence on Tuesday and Wednesday at 1 p.m. and continue till 6.30 p.m., or later while on Thursday and Friday sittings commence at 10.30 a.m. and continue till 5.30 p.m.  

Committee members Leader of the House Dinesh Gunawardena, Chief Government Whip Johnston Fernando, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Douglas Devananda, Mahinda Amaraweera, Prasanna Ranatunga, Ali Sabry, MPs Rauff Hakeem Gayantha Karunathilaka, Dilan Perera, Rishard Bathiudeen, M.A. Sumanthiran and Chief Opposition Whip Lakshman Kiriella were present at yesterday’s meeting.

source : Daily FT

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply